Women in the U.S. House of Representatives 2020

Current U.S. House
(88D, 13R)
23.2% of 435 seats

Nancy Pelosi (D-CA), the first woman Speaker of the House, holds the highest position in the House and is second in line of presidential succession.

In addition to the women currently serving, 4 (2D, 2R) women serve as non-voting delegates representing American Samoa, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands.

Of the women currently serving in the House:


women first entered by winning regular general elections.


women lawmakers held previous elective offices prior to entering Congress.


won special elections; Adams (NC), Bonamici (OR), Chu (CA), Clark (MA), Fudge (OH), Hanabusa (HI), Handel (GA), Jones (MI), Kelly (IL), Lee (CA), Lesko (AZ), Matsui (CA), Pelosi (CA), Ros-Lehtinen (FL), Scanlon(PA); Speier (CA), Tsongas (MA), and Wild (PA) succeeded others who died or resigned. The AS, DC, GU and VI Delegates won regular general elections.


held more than one previous elective post. The positions include: statewide elective (1); state senator (15); state representative (36); county elective (6); municipal elective (25); judge (1); school board member (7).

U.S. Representatives by Race and Ethnicity

*Women who self-identify as more than one race/ethnicity are included on CAWP pages for each group with which they identify. We strongly caution against adding totals from each racial/ethnic group should, as it will double count officeholders. 

Of the 101 current women U.S. Representatives:

  • 6 identify as Asian American/Pacific Islander
  • 22 identify as Black
  • 12 identify as Latina
  • 2 identify as Middle Eastern/North African
  • 2 identify as Native American/Alaska Native/Native Hawaiian
  • 57 identify as white

In addition, of the 4 women non-voting delegates: 1 identifies as Asian American/Pacific Islander, 1 identifies as Latina, and 2 identify as Black women.

Current U.S. Representatives
Name Party Year(s) Served State
Alma S. Adams D 2014-present North Carolina
Cindy Axne D 2019-2022 Iowa
Karen R. Bass D 2011-2022 California
Joyce B. Beatty D 2013-present Ohio
Lisa Blunt Rochester D 2017-present Delaware
Suzanne M. Bonamici D 2012-present Oregon
Susan W. Brooks R 2013-2020 Indiana
Julia Brownley D 2013-present California
Cheri L. Bustos D 2013-2022 Illinois
Kathy A. Castor D 2007-present Florida
Liz L. Cheney R 2017-2022 Wyoming
Judy Chu D 2009-present California
Katherine M. Clark D 2013-present Massachusetts
Yvette D. Clarke D 2007-present New York
Angela D. Craig D/DFL 2019-present Minnesota
Sharice Davids D 2019-present Kansas
Susan A. Davis D 2001-2020 California
Madeleine Dean D 2019-present Pennsylvania
Diana L. DeGette D 1997-present Colorado
Rosa L. DeLauro D 1991-present Connecticut
Suzan K. DelBene D 2012-present Washington
Val B. Demings D 2017-2022 Florida
Nanette Diaz Barragan D 2017-present California
Debbie Dingell D 2015-present Michigan
Veronica Escobar D 2019-present Texas
Anna G. Eshoo D 1993-present California
Abby Finkenauer D 2019-2020 Iowa
Virginia A. Foxx R 2005-present North Carolina
Lois J. Frankel D 2013-present Florida
Marcia L. Fudge D 2008-2021 Ohio
Tulsi Gabbard D 2013-2020 Hawaii
Sylvia R. Garcia D 2019-present Texas
Kay N. Granger R 1997-present Texas
Debra A. Haaland D 2019-2021 New Mexico
Vicky Jo Hartzler R 2011-2022 Missouri
Jahana Hayes D 2019-present Connecticut
Jaime L. Herrera Beutler R 2011-2022 Washington
Kendra Horn D 2019-2020 Oklahoma
Chrissy Houlahan D 2019-present Pennsylvania
Pramila Jayapal D 2017-present Washington
Eddie Bernice Johnson D 1993-2022 Texas
Marcy C. Kaptur D 1983-present Ohio
Robin L. Kelly D 2013-present Illinois
Ann L. Kirkpatrick D 2019-2022 Arizona
Ann McLane Kuster D 2013-present New Hampshire
Brenda L. Lawrence D 2015-2022 Michigan
Barbara J. Lee D 1998-present California
Sheila Jackson Lee D 1995-present Texas
Susie Lee D 2019-present Nevada
Debbie Lesko R 2018-present Arizona
Zoe Lofgren D 1995-present California
Nita M. Lowey D 1989-2020 New York
Elaine G. Luria D 2019-2022 Virginia
Carolyn B. Maloney D 1993-2022 New York
Doris O. Matsui D 2005-present California
Lucy McBath D 2019-present Georgia
Betty McCollum D/DFL 2001-present Minnesota
Cathy McMorris Rodgers R 2005-present Washington
Grace Meng D 2013-present New York
Carol D. Miller R 2019-present West Virginia
Gwen S. Moore D 2005-present Wisconsin
Debbie Mucarsel-Powell D 2019-2020 Florida
Stephanie Murphy D 2017-2022 Florida
Grace F. Napolitano D 1999-present California
Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez D 2019-present New York
Ilhan Omar D/DFL 2019-present Minnesota
Elizabeth Pannill Fletcher D 2019-present Texas
Nancy Pelosi D 1987-present California
Chellie M. Pingree D 2009-present Maine
Katherine Porter D 2019-present California
Ayanna Pressley D 2019-present Massachusetts
Kathleen M. Rice D 2015-2022 New York
Martha Roby R 2011-2020 Alabama
Lucille Roybal-Allard D 1993-2022 California
Linda T. Sanchez D 2003-present California
Mary Gay Scanlon D 2018-present Pennsylvania
Jan D. Schakowsky D 1999-present Illinois
Kim Schrier D 2019-present Washington
Terri A. Sewell D 2011-present Alabama
Donna Shalala D 2019-2020 Florida
Mikie Sherrill D 2019-present New Jersey
Elissa Slotkin D 2019-present Michigan
Abigail D. Spanberger D 2019-present Virginia
Jackie Speier D 2008-2022 California
Elise M. Stefanik R 2015-present New York
Haley Stevens D 2019-present Michigan
Dina C. Titus D 2013-present Nevada
Rashida Tlaib D 2019-present Michigan
Norma J. Torres D 2015-present California
Xochitl Torres Small D 2019-2020 New Mexico
Lori Trahan D 2019-present Massachusetts
Lauren A. Underwood D 2019-present Illinois
Nydia M. Velazquez D 1993-present New York
Ann L. Wagner R 2013-present Missouri
Jackie Swihart Walorski R 2013-2022 Indiana
Debbie Wasserman Schultz D 2005-present Florida
Maxine Waters D 1991-present California
Bonnie Watson Coleman D 2015-present New Jersey
Jennifer T. Wexton D 2019-present Virginia
Susan Ellis Wild D 2018-present Pennsylvania
Frederica S. Wilson D 2011-present Florida
Name Party Year(s) Served State
Aumua Amata Coleman Radewagen R 2015-present American Samoa
Jenniffer Gonzalez-Colon R 2017-present Puerto Rico
Eleanor Holmes Norton D 1991-present District of Columbia
Stacey E. Plaskett D 2015-present Virgin Islands