

Center for American Women and Politics • Eagleton Institute of Politics • Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey 191 Ryders Lane • New Brunswick, NJ 08901-8557 • (732) 932-9384 • Fax (732) 932-6778 • www.cawp.rutgers.edu

## Election 2005: New Jersey and Virginia Women Candidates

New Jersey and Virginia women candidates who have filed for 2005 are listed below. Seat Code: C = challenger; I = incumbent; I/U = incumbent unopposed; O = open seat; O? = potentially open seat after primary vote

## New Jersey Women Candidates

41 (23D, 18R)	filed for asser	nbly seats		
33 (18D, 15R) won primary, will run in general election				
Name	Party	Seat		

Office	District	Name	Party	Seat	Primary
Assem.	5	Nilsa Cruz-Perez	D	I/U	WON
Assem.	6	Pamela Rosen-Lampitt	D	0	WON
Assem.	6	JoAnn R. Gurenlian	R	0	WON
Assem.	9	Dolores J. Coulter	D	С	WON
Assem.	10	Joni Jones	D	С	WON
Assem.	12	Jennifer Beck	R	С	WON
Assem.	13	Amy Handlin	R	0	WON
Assem.	14	Linda Greenstein	D	Ι	WON
Assem.	15	Bonnie Watson Coleman	D	Ι	WON
Assem.	17	Catherine Barrier	R	С	WON
Assem.	22	Linda Stender	D	Ι	WON
Assem.	22	Barbara Todd Kerr	D	<b>O</b> ?	lost
Assem.	22	Elyse Bochicchio-Medved	R	С	WON
Assem.	22	Nancy Malool	R	С	WON
Assem.	23	Janice L. Kovach	D	0	WON
Assem.	23	Marcia A. Karrow	R	0	WON
Assem.	23	Susan L. Wagner-Glaser	R	0	lost
Assem.	24	Alison Littell McHose	R	Ι	WON
Assem.	25	Janice Schindler	D	С	WON
Assem.	26	Avery Hart	D	С	WON
Assem.	26	Kathleen Lynch-McCabe	D	С	WON
Assem.	28	Barbara Dennis	R	С	WON
Assem.	28	Ana Pizutelli	R	С	WON
Assem.	29	Joanne Miller	D	<b>O</b> ?	lost
Assem.	29	Elaine L. Guarino	R	С	WON
Assem.	31	Christine Peterson	D	0	lost
Assem.	31	Rita A. Howard	R	0	WON
Assem.	32	Joan Quigley	D	Ι	WON
Assem.	33	Alejandria Rodriguez	R	С	WON
Assem.	34	Sheila Y. Oliver	D	Ι	WON

A note to users of our fact sheets: Please credit the Center for American Women and Politics (CAWP), National Information Bank on Women in Public Office, Eagleton Institute of Politics, Rutgers University.

© COPYRIGHT 2006 Center for American Women and Politics (CAWP)

Assem.	34	Debbie Ellison	D	O?	lost
Assem.	34	Vashti Johnson	D	O?	lost
Assem.	35	Nellie Pou	D	Ι	WON
Assem.	35	Meghan Green	R	С	lost
Assem.	35	Jennifer Scully	R	С	lost
Assem.	35	Deborah Shortway	R	С	WON
Assem.	37	Loretta Weinberg	D	Ι	WON
Assem.	38	Joan M. Voss	D	Ι	WON
Assem.	39	Josephine Higgins	D	С	WON
Assem.	39	Charlotte Vandervalk	R	Ι	WON
Assem.	40	Jane Bidwell	D	С	WON

		Virginia		
Office District Name		Party	Seat	Primary
	Statewide Office			
Lt. Gov.	Leslie L. Byrne	D	0	WON
Lt. Gov.	Viola Osbourne Baskerville	D	0	lost

## State Legislative Office 23 (17D, 6R) filed for delegate seats

	16 (11D, 5R) won primary, will				run in general election	
Del.	22	Kathy J. Byron	R	I/U	WON	
Del.	29	Beverly J. Sherwood	R	I/U	WON	
Del.	37	Janet S. Oleszek	D	0	lost	
Del.	39	Vivian E. Watts	D	Ι	WON	
Del.	44	Kristen J. Amundson	D	Ι	WON	
Del.	45	E. T. Libby Garvey	D	0	lost	
Del.	45	Laura J. Mandala	D	0	lost	
Del.	45	Elsie Mosqueda	D	0	lost	
Del.	51	Michele B. McQuigg	R	Ι	WON	
Del.	52	Hilda M. Barg	D	С	WON	
Del.	63	Rosalyn R. Dance	D	I/U	WON	
Del.	71	Jennifer L. McClellan	D	O/U	WON	
Del.	75	Roslyn C. Tyler	D	O/U	WON	
Del.	75	Deborah A. Goodwyn	D	0	lost	
Del.	81	Terrie L. Suit	R	I/U	WON	
Del.	83	Delceno C. Miles	R	<b>O</b> ?	lost	
Del.	84	Supriya Christopher	D	0	WON	
Del.	87	Paula J. Miller	D	Ι	WON	
Del.	90	Keela A. Boose	D	<b>O</b> ?	lost	
Del.	92	Jeion A. Ward	D	I/U	WON	
Del.	95	Mamye E. BaCote	D	I/U	WON	
Del.	96	Melanie L. Rapp R	I/U	WON		
Del.	99	Linda M. Crandell	D	0	WON	