Women in the U.S. House of Representatives 2021

Current U.S. House
(89D, 31R)
27.6% of 435 seats

Nancy Pelosi (D-CA), the first woman Speaker of the House, holds the highest position in the House and is second in line of presidential succession.

In addition to the women currently serving, 4 (2D, 2R) women serve as non-voting delegates representing American Samoa, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. 

Historic U.S. House
(229D, 119R)
3.3% of 10,421 seats

Count includes both current and past women representatives.

In addition to the women representatives, 7 (4D, 3R) women have served as non-voting delegates representing American Samoa, the District of Columbia, Guam, Hawaii (before statehood), Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands. 

Of the women currently serving in the House:


women first entered by winning regular general elections.


women lawmakers held previous elective offices prior to entering Congress.


won special elections; Adams (NC), Bonamici (OR), Brown (OH), Chu (CA), Clark (MA), Hanabusa (HI), Handel (GA), Jones (MI), Kelly (IL), Lee (CA), Lesko (AZ), Letlow (LA), Matsui (CA), Pelosi (CA), Ros-Lehtinen (FL), Scanlon(PA); Speier (CA), Stansbury (NM), Tsongas (MA), and Wild (PA) succeeded others who died or resigned. The AS, DC, GU and VI Delegates won regular general elections.


held more than one previous elective post. The positions include: statewide elective (2); state senator (19); state representative (39); county elective (7); municipal elective (27); judge (1); school board member (7).

U.S. Representatives by Race and Ethnicity

*Women who self-identify as more than one race/ethnicity are included on CAWP pages for each group with which they identify. We strongly caution against adding totals from each racial/ethnic group should, as it will double count officeholders. 

Of the 120 current women U.S. Representatives:

  • 8 identify as Asian American/Pacific Islander
  • 25 identify as Black
  • 13 identify as Latina
  • 1 identifies as Middle Eastern/North African
  • 1 identifies as Native American/Alaska Native/Native Hawaiian 
  • 74 identify as White

In addition, of the 4 women non-voting delegates: 1 identifies as Asian American/Pacific Islander, 1 identifies as Latina, and 2 identify Black women.

Current U.S. Representatives
Name Party Year(s) Served State
Alma S. Adams D 2014-present North Carolina
Cindy Axne D 2019-2022 Iowa
Karen R. Bass D 2011-2022 California
Joyce B. Beatty D 2013-present Ohio
Stephanie Bice R 2021-present Oklahoma
Lisa Blunt Rochester D 2017-present Delaware
Lauren Boebert R 2021-present Colorado
Suzanne M. Bonamici D 2012-present Oregon
Carolyn Bourdeaux D 2021-2022 Georgia
Shontel Brown D 2021-present Ohio
Julia Brownley D 2013-present California
Cori Bush D 2021-present Missouri
Cheri L. Bustos D 2013-2022 Illinois
Kat Cammack R 2021-present Florida
Kathy A. Castor D 2007-present Florida
Liz L. Cheney R 2017-2022 Wyoming
Judy Chu D 2009-present California
Katherine M. Clark D 2013-present Massachusetts
Yvette D. Clarke D 2007-present New York
Angela D. Craig D/DFL 2019-present Minnesota
Sharice Davids D 2019-present Kansas
Madeleine Dean D 2019-present Pennsylvania
Diana L. DeGette D 1997-present Colorado
Rosa L. DeLauro D 1991-present Connecticut
Suzan K. DelBene D 2012-present Washington
Val B. Demings D 2017-2022 Florida
Nanette Diaz Barragan D 2017-present California
Debbie Dingell D 2015-present Michigan
Veronica Escobar D 2019-present Texas
Anna G. Eshoo D 1993-present California
Michelle L. Fischbach R 2021-present Minnesota
Virginia A. Foxx R 2005-present North Carolina
Lois J. Frankel D 2013-present Florida
Sylvia R. Garcia D 2019-present Texas
Kay N. Granger R 1997-present Texas
Marjorie Greene R 2021-present Georgia
Diana Harshbarger R 2021-present Tennessee
Vicky Jo Hartzler R 2011-2022 Missouri
Jahana Hayes D 2019-present Connecticut
Yvette S. Herrell R 2021-2022 New Mexico
Jaime L. Herrera Beutler R 2011-2022 Washington
Ashley Hinson R 2021-present Iowa
Chrissy Houlahan D 2019-present Pennsylvania
Sara Jacobs D 2021-present California
Pramila Jayapal D 2017-present Washington
Eddie Bernice Johnson D 1993-2022 Texas
Marcy C. Kaptur D 1983-present Ohio
Robin L. Kelly D 2013-present Illinois
Young O. Kim R 2021-present California
Ann L. Kirkpatrick D 2019-2022 Arizona
Ann McLane Kuster D 2013-present New Hampshire
Brenda L. Lawrence D 2015-2022 Michigan
Barbara J. Lee D 1998-present California
Sheila Jackson Lee D 1995-present Texas
Susie Lee D 2019-present Nevada
Teresa Leger Fernandez D 2021-present New Mexico
Debbie Lesko R 2018-present Arizona
Julia Letlow R 2021-present Louisiana
Zoe Lofgren D 1995-present California
Elaine G. Luria D 2019-2022 Virginia
Nancy Mace R 2021-present South Carolina
Nicole Malliotakis R 2021-present New York
Carolyn B. Maloney D 1993-2022 New York
Kathy Manning D 2021-present North Carolina
Doris O. Matsui D 2005-present California
Lucy McBath D 2019-present Georgia
Lisa McClain R 2021-present Michigan
Betty McCollum D/DFL 2001-present Minnesota
Cathy McMorris Rodgers R 2005-present Washington
Grace Meng D 2013-present New York
Carol D. Miller R 2019-present West Virginia
Mary Miller R 2021-present Illinois
Mariannette Miller-Meeks R 2021-present Iowa
Gwen S. Moore D 2005-present Wisconsin
Stephanie Murphy D 2017-2022 Florida
Grace F. Napolitano D 1999-present California
Marie Newman D 2021-2022 Illinois
Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez D 2019-present New York
Ilhan Omar D/DFL 2019-present Minnesota
Elizabeth Pannill Fletcher D 2019-present Texas
Nancy Pelosi D 1987-present California
Chellie M. Pingree D 2009-present Maine
Katherine Porter D 2019-present California
Ayanna Pressley D 2019-present Massachusetts
Kathleen M. Rice D 2015-2022 New York
Deborah Ross D 2021-present North Carolina
Lucille Roybal-Allard D 1993-2022 California
Maria Salazar R 2021-present Florida
Linda T. Sanchez D 2003-present California
Mary Gay Scanlon D 2018-present Pennsylvania
Jan D. Schakowsky D 1999-present Illinois
Kim Schrier D 2019-present Washington
Terri A. Sewell D 2011-present Alabama
Mikie Sherrill D 2019-present New Jersey
Elissa Slotkin D 2019-present Michigan
Abigail D. Spanberger D 2019-present Virginia
Victoria Spartz R 2021-present Indiana
Jackie Speier D 2008-2022 California
Melanie A. Stansbury D 2021-present New Mexico
Michelle Steel R 2021-present California
Elise M. Stefanik R 2015-present New York
Haley Stevens D 2019-present Michigan
Marilyn Strickland D 2021-present Washington
Claudia Tenney R 2021-present New York
Dina C. Titus D 2013-present Nevada
Rashida Tlaib D 2019-present Michigan
Norma J. Torres D 2015-present California
Lori Trahan D 2019-present Massachusetts
Lauren A. Underwood D 2019-present Illinois
Beth Van Duyne R 2021-present Texas
Nydia M. Velazquez D 1993-present New York
Ann L. Wagner R 2013-present Missouri
Jackie Swihart Walorski R 2013-2022 Indiana
Debbie Wasserman Schultz D 2005-present Florida
Maxine Waters D 1991-present California
Bonnie Watson Coleman D 2015-present New Jersey
Jennifer T. Wexton D 2019-present Virginia
Susan Ellis Wild D 2018-present Pennsylvania
Nikema Williams D 2021-present Georgia
Frederica S. Wilson D 2011-present Florida
Name Party Year(s) Served State
Aumua Amata Coleman Radewagen R 2015-present American Samoa
Jenniffer Gonzalez-Colon R 2017-present Puerto Rico
Eleanor Holmes Norton D 1991-present District of Columbia
Stacey E. Plaskett D 2015-present Virgin Islands