Women in D.C. and the Territories


Four women non-voting delegates (2D, 2R) represent American Samoa, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands in the United States House of Representatives.


One woman currently serves as governor in the U.S. Territories: Lou Leon Guerroro in Guam.


There are currently 47 women serving in the legislatures of the U.S. Territories (American Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, and the Northern Mariana Islands) and on the D.C. City Council. Of the 47, 14 serve as senators, 14 serve as representatives and 16 serve on unicameral bodies.

Women in serving in legislatures in U.S. Territories
Territory Total Women Total Legislature % Women Overall
American Samoa 1 (1NP) 39 2.6%
District of Columbia 5 (4D, 1I) 13 38.5%
Guam 6 (4D, 2R) 15 40.0%
Northern Mariana Islands 6 (3D, 3I) 29 20.7%
Puerto Rico 24 (8PNP, 11PPD, 5 Third Party)* 78 30.8%
Virgin Islands 5 (4D, 1I) 16 31.3%

*PNP stands for Partido Nuevo Progresista, or the New Progressive Party, and PPD stands for Partido Popular Democratico, or the Popular Democratic Party.