Women in the U.S. House of Representatives 2017

Current U.S. House
(62D, 22R)
19.3% of 435 seats

Nancy Pelosi (D-CA), who was the first woman Speaker of the House, is now House Minority Leader.

In addition to the women currently serving, 5 (3D, 2R) women serve as non-voting delegates representing American Samoa, the District of Columbia, Guam, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands.

Of the women currently serving in the House:


women first entered by winning regular general elections.


women lawmakers held previous elective offices prior to entering Congress.


won special elections; Adams (NC), Bonamici (OR), Chu (CA), Clark (MA), Fudge (OH), Hanabusa (HI), Handel (GA), Kelly (IL), Lee (CA), Matsui (CA), Pelosi (CA), Ros-Lehtinen (FL), Speier (CA), and Tsongas (MA) succeeded others who died or resigned. The AS, DC, GU and VI Delegates won regular general elections.


held more than one previous elective post. The positions include: statewide elective (2); state senator (19); state representative (43); county elective (8); municipal elective (19); judge (2); school board member (5).

U.S. Representatives by Race and Ethnicity

*Women who self-identify as more than one race/ethnicity are included on CAWP pages for each group with which they identify. We strongly caution against adding totals from each racial/ethnic group should, as it will double count officeholders. 

Of the 84 current women U.S. Representatives:

  • 7 identify as Asian American/Pacific Islander
  • 18 identify as Black
  • 9 identify as Latina
  • 50 identify as white

In addition, of the 5 women non-voting delegates: 1 identifies as Asian American/Pacific Islander, 1 identifies as Latina, 2 identify as Black women, and 1 identifies as white.

Current U.S. Representatives
Name Party Year(s) Served State
Alma S. Adams D 2014-present North Carolina
Karen R. Bass D 2011-2022 California
Joyce B. Beatty D 2013-present Ohio
Diane L. Black R 2011-2018 Tennessee
Marsha Blackburn R 2003-2018 Tennessee
Lisa Blunt Rochester D 2017-present Delaware
Suzanne M. Bonamici D 2012-present Oregon
Susan W. Brooks R 2013-2020 Indiana
Julia Brownley D 2013-present California
Cheri L. Bustos D 2013-2022 Illinois
Kathy A. Castor D 2007-present Florida
Liz L. Cheney R 2017-2022 Wyoming
Judy Chu D 2009-present California
Katherine M. Clark D 2013-present Massachusetts
Yvette D. Clarke D 2007-present New York
Barbara J. Comstock R 2015-2018 Virginia
Susan A. Davis D 2001-2020 California
Diana L. DeGette D 1997-present Colorado
Rosa L. DeLauro D 1991-present Connecticut
Suzan K. DelBene D 2012-present Washington
Val B. Demings D 2017-2022 Florida
Nanette Diaz Barragan D 2017-present California
Debbie Dingell D 2015-present Michigan
Anna G. Eshoo D 1993-present California
Elizabeth H. Esty D 2013-2018 Connecticut
Virginia A. Foxx R 2005-present North Carolina
Lois J. Frankel D 2013-present Florida
Marcia L. Fudge D 2008-2021 Ohio
Tulsi Gabbard D 2013-2020 Hawaii
Kay N. Granger R 1997-present Texas
Colleen W. Hanabusa D 2016-2018 Hawaii
Karen C. Handel R 2017-2018 Georgia
Vicky Jo Hartzler R 2011-2022 Missouri
Jaime L. Herrera Beutler R 2011-2022 Washington
Pramila Jayapal D 2017-present Washington
Lynn M. Jenkins R 2009-2018 Kansas
Eddie Bernice Johnson D 1993-2022 Texas
Marcy C. Kaptur D 1983-present Ohio
Robin L. Kelly D 2013-present Illinois
Ann McLane Kuster D 2013-present New Hampshire
Brenda L. Lawrence D 2015-2022 Michigan
Barbara J. Lee D 1998-present California
Sheila Jackson Lee D 1995-2024 Texas
Zoe Lofgren D 1995-present California
Mia B. Love R 2015-2018 Utah
Nita M. Lowey D 1989-2020 New York
Michelle Lujan Grisham D 2013-2018 New Mexico
Carolyn B. Maloney D 1993-2022 New York
Doris O. Matsui D 2005-present California
Betty McCollum D/DFL 2001-present Minnesota
Cathy McMorris Rodgers R 2005-present Washington
Martha McSally R 2015-2018 Arizona
Grace Meng D 2013-present New York
Gwen S. Moore D 2005-present Wisconsin
Stephanie Murphy D 2017-2022 Florida
Grace F. Napolitano D 1999-present California
Kristi Noem R 2011-2018 South Dakota
Nancy Pelosi D 1987-present California
Chellie M. Pingree D 2009-present Maine
Kathleen M. Rice D 2015-2022 New York
Martha Roby R 2011-2020 Alabama
Ileana C. Ros-Lehtinen R 1989-2018 Florida
Jacklyn S. Rosen D 2017-2018 Nevada
Lucille Roybal-Allard D 1993-2022 California
Linda T. Sanchez D 2003-present California
Jan D. Schakowsky D 1999-present Illinois
Terri A. Sewell D 2011-present Alabama
Carol Shea-Porter D 2017-2018 New Hampshire
Kyrsten Sinema D 2013-2018 Arizona
Louise M. Slaughter D 1987-2018 New York
Jackie Speier D 2008-2022 California
Elise M. Stefanik R 2015-present New York
Claudia Tenney R 2017-2018 New York
Dina C. Titus D 2013-present Nevada
Norma J. Torres D 2015-present California
Niki S. Tsongas D 2007-2018 Massachusetts
Nydia M. Velazquez D 1993-present New York
Ann L. Wagner R 2013-present Missouri
Jackie Swihart Walorski R 2013-2022 Indiana
Mimi Walters R 2015-2018 California
Debbie Wasserman Schultz D 2005-present Florida
Maxine Waters D 1991-present California
Bonnie Watson Coleman D 2015-present New Jersey
Frederica S. Wilson D 2011-present Florida
Name Party Year(s) Served State
Madeleine Z. Bordallo D 2003-2018 Guam
Aumua Amata Coleman Radewagen R 2015-present American Samoa
Jenniffer Gonzalez-Colon R 2017-present Puerto Rico
Eleanor Holmes Norton D 1991-present District of Columbia
Stacey E. Plaskett D 2015-present Virgin Islands