High-Level Presidential Appointments

Biden-Harris Administration    

Cabinet and Cabinet-Level Appointments

CAWP includes women who are appointed to positions designated as cabinet or cabinet-level, including vice president, by a presidential administration. This designation depends on each presidential administration. See CAWP’s fact sheet on Women in Presidential Cabinets for complete historical information. 

Kamala Harris

Vice President

Gina Raimondo

Secretary of Commerce
Confirmed March 2, 2021

Marcia Fudge

Secretary of Housing and Urban Development
Confirmed March 10, 2021

Cecilia Rouse

Chair, Council of Economic Advisors
Confirmed March 2, 2021

Jennifer Granholm

Secretary of Energy
Confirmed February 25, 2021

Katherine Tai 

U.S. Trade Representative 
Confirmed March 17, 2021

Isabel Guzman

Administrator, Small Business Administration 
Confirmed March 16, 2021

Linda Thomas-Greenfield

U.N. Ambassador
Confirmed February 23, 2021

Deb Haaland

Secretary of the Interior
Confirmed March 15, 2021

Janet L. Yellen

Secretary of the Treasury
Confirmed January 25, 2021

Avril Haines

Director of National Intelligence
Confirmed January 20, 2021

Shalanda Young

Director of the Office of Management and Budget
Confirmed March 15, 2022

Arati Prabhakar

Director, Office of Science and Technology Policy
Confirmed September 22, 2022


High-Level Staff in the Executive Office of the President

CAWP includes women who hold senior staff positions in the Executive Office of the President (EOP), including: (1) women who head top-tier entities (offices and councils) in the EOP that are not designated as cabinet-level; (2) women who head top-tier entities (offices and councils) in the White House Office; (3) women serving as Senior Advisors and Counselors to the President; and (4) women who serve as Coordinators of or top-level Advisors to White House initiatives. We do not include deputy-level posts or staff positions other than Chiefs of Staff in the Office of the Vice President and the Office of the First Lady.

Karine Jean-Pierre, White House Press Secretary
Krystal Ka’ai, Executive Director of White House Initiative on Asian Americans, Native Hawaiians, and Pacific Islanders
Jennifer Klein, Director of the White House Gender Policy Council and Assistant to the President
Brenda Mallory, Chair of the Council on Environmental Quality 
Neera Tanden, Domestic Policy Advisor and Assistant to the President
Emmy Ruiz, Director of Political Strategy and Outreach
Evan Ryan, Cabinet Secretary
Stefanie Feldman, Staff Secretary and Assistant to the President
Louisa Terrell, Director of the White House Office of Legislative Affairs
Annie Tomasini, Director of Oval Office Operations
Lorraine Voles, Chief of Staff to the Vice President