U.S. Senate Women Candidates, Nominees, and Winners By Seat Status and Party, 1976-2022

Data below presents the the number of women candidates, nominees, and winners for the U.S. Senate by their seat status and party. This includes major party nominees for the general elections, and not those running in special elections. Independent candidates are included only if they win their races. These figures do not include Delegates to the House from Washington D.C. or other five territories. 


1Jean Carnahan (D-MO), while not a candidate on the ballot for the Senate or an election winner, was appointed to the seat won posthumously by her husband, Governor Mel Carnahan.

Lisa Murkowski (R-AK) lost her primary race but won as a write-in candidate in the general election. As such, she is not included in the nominee number but is counted among the general election winner numbers.

Martha McSally (R-AZ) lost on Election Day 2018 but was appointed to the U.S. Senate on 1/5/19 and thus is not included in the winner numbers. 

4 Historical fact sheets only date back to 1990 for the total filed candidates list.